tailleTexte : A A A
Article sur : gare maritime
7
Jul

Articles Cherbourg from 1933 to today

The Second World War

The destruction of the passenger terminal during the Normandy landings German troops occupied the passenger terminal and the transatlantic wet dock during the Second World War. Armoured towers were built on the quays and the German Army Command designated the port as the Fortress of Cherbourg. During the D-day landings in Normandy, not that far […]

22
Jun

Articles Cherbourg from 1933 to today

The Baggage hall

Discover the Transatlantic terminal building’s baggage hall The Transatlantic passenger terminal’s baggage hall suffered from the effects of bad weather over many years due to the severely decayed condition of the building’s zenithal glass roof. It was restored in 2003 with the aim of welcoming Cunard’s latest pearl, the Queen Mary 2, which was to […]

22
Jun

Articles Cherbourg from 1933 to today

The port of Cherbourg-Octeville

  The port of Cherbourg: a growing success At the start of the XXth century, some of the biggest cruise liners of the era arrived in the harbour of Cherbourg-Octeville. Ships of their size were not able to enter Cherbourg’s port and dock alongside the passenger terminal so tenders such as the Nomadic and Traffic […]

Contact - Copyright La Cité de la Mer - Mentions légales

tailleTexte : A A A
Article sur : gare maritime
7
jui

Articles Cherbourg de 1933 à aujourd'hui

La Seconde Guerre Mondiale

Destruction de la gare maritime pendant le débarquement de Normandie Pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, les troupes allemandes occupent la Gare Maritime et la Darse Transatlantique. Les quais sont aménagés de blockhaus, l’Etat Major allemand désigne le port comme la Forteresse de Cherbourg. Pendant le débarquement en Normandie, non loin à Utah Beach, la destruction des […]

22
jui

Articles Cherbourg de 1933 à aujourd'hui

La Salle des Bagages

Découvrez la Salle des Bagages de la Gare Maritime Transatlantique  La Salle des Bagages de la Gare Maritime Transatlantique, subissait depuis plusieurs années les intempéries normandes à cause d’un état avancé de délabrement des verrières zénithales. En 2003, elle est restaurée dans le but d’accueillir le nouveau joyau de la Cunard : le Queen Mary 2, […]

22
jui

Articles Cherbourg de 1933 à aujourd'hui

Le port de Cherbourg-Octeville

Le port de Cherbourg-Octeville Le port de Cherbourg-Octeville, au début du XXe siècle reçoit les plus grands paquebots dans sa rade. Le port ne leur permet pas d’arriver jusqu’à la gare maritime de Cherbourg. Les bateaux transportent donc passagers et marchandises à bord, via les transbordeurs, notamment le Nomadic et le Traffic. Mais face à […]

Contact - Copyright La Cité de la Mer - Mentions légales