tailleTexte : A A A
Article sur : White star line
6
Jul

Articles Cherbourg from 1933 to today

Links with Cunard

From White Star Line to Cunard Line Founded in 1845, the White Star Line was taken over in 1867 by Thomas Henry Ismay, who transformed the company into a specialist in the transport of passengers to and from luxury liners. His son, Jopseh Bruce Ismay, replaced him in 1899. The White Star Line ran into […]

10
May

Articles Cherbourg Yesterday Photographies

Transatlantic companies and the White Star ferries

Transatlantic companies in the boom era of Cherbourg’s harbour With the huge increase in emigration, numerous ships from foreign maritime companies made regular stop-overs in Cherbourg harbour, made accessible by train in 1958. Whereas only three transatlantic companies used the port of Cherbourg in 1900, the number rose to seven in 1913 and eleven in […]

10
May

Cherbourg Yesterday

The passenger terminal in Cherbourg in 1912

La première gare maritime de Cherbourg, qui vit au loin dans la rade de Cherbourg, s'arrêter le Titanic

Construction of the first terminal building in Cherbourg      With the number of passengers coming through Cherbourg increasing steadily, the group of tents acting as a terminal were becoming rapidly insufficient. They were replaced by a permanent stone structure which was inaugurated in 1912 and housed the various maritime companies and included a central […]

Contact - Copyright La Cité de la Mer - Mentions légales

tailleTexte : A A A
Article sur : White star line
6
jui

Articles Cherbourg de 1933 à aujourd'hui

Les liens avec la Cunard

De la White Star Line à la Cunard Line   La White Star Line est fondée en 1845, elle est reprise en 1867 par Thomas Henry Ismay qui spécialise l’entreprise dans le transport de passagers à bord de paquebots de luxe. La compagnie sera reprise par Joseph Bruce Ismay, le fils, en 1899. Dans les […]

10
mai

Articles Cherbourg Hier Photographies

Les compagnies transatlantiques, les transbordeurs de la White star

Le boom des compagnies transatlantiques dans la rade de Cherbourg Avec la recrudescence de l’émigration, de nombreux navires de sociétés étrangères font des escales régulières dans la rade de Cherbourg, desservie à son tour par le rail en 1858. En 1900, trois compagnies transatlantiques fréquentent la rade, en 1913 elles sont sept, et onze en […]

10
mai

Cherbourg Hier

La Gare maritime de Cherbourg en 1912

La première gare maritime de Cherbourg, qui vit au loin dans la rade de Cherbourg, s'arrêter le Titanic

Construction de la première gare maritime de Cherbourg Le transit des passagers, en constante progression, rend un premier baraquement sous tentes rapidement inadapté. Il est remplacé par une gare maritime en pierre, inaugurée en 1912. Cette gare abrite les bureaux des différentes compagnies maritimes ainsi qu’une Salle des Pas Perdus où les voyageurs peuvent acheter […]

Contact - Copyright La Cité de la Mer - Mentions légales